I Am/ Am Not My Hair

I AM

Lately, in the natural hair community there has been an ongoing battle between women who claim “hair is just hair” and women who claim that this natural hair movement is deeper than just hair. So, I just decided to share my OPINION on the matter. I have to say I agree with both sides of the matter. I have always been the type of girl who changed her hair constantly. I never had any type of obsession with length. People would ask me why I cut my hair so often, and I would reply, “It’s just hair, it will grow back”. I always believed, hair was just hair and no matter how many times you cut it, it would grow back. At the same time, I wasn’t ignorant to the fact that hair contributed to a person’s self confidence. If my hair was a mess or damaged, I just didn’t feel like myself. I didn’t feel as pretty or confident as I did when my hair was freshly relaxed and flowing in the wind. I loved walking out of the salon with my hair freshly washed, conditioned, and flat ironed. It made me feel like a new person, but after a few days it was back to ponytails until the next salon visit. I must admit, though, when I begin my natural hair journey and I “big chopped,” it no longer felt like just hair. I began researching the hair products I use, I drank my water, and I was more careful about what was going into my body. My hair became more of a science rather than something that was just growing out of my head. I wanted to learn more about my hair and how to make it healthier. Becoming natural also taught me to be more confident in myself and my decisions. One night, I just chopped all of my hair off and that night I just kept thinking that I have to walk out of the house with this short mess on top of my head. But, I had to live with my decision, it was done. I had to somehow exude my inner beauty and inner confidence because I felt ugly on the outside. Eventually, I came to love my TWA and I rocked it with real confidence! I also came to love my natural hair. This has truly been a journey for me. My natural hair has taught me self love, self acceptance, and I became more confident. So while I do believe that hair does not make a person, no amount of hair or makeup can change a person that’s ugly on the inside, I do believe that your hair is apart of you and it should be cared for just as much as any other part of your body.

3 comments

  1. Great post! I agree that accepting your natural hair really helps you accept yourself and eventually find that feeling of self love. You shed part of the mask that hides the part of you that you think is ugly. I have been natural most of my life but I was always afraid of wearing my afro out. It was a big step and you do have to hold your head high even if you don’t feel the confidence within. Because if you don’t love yourself, no-one else will do it for you.
    I laso agree that it educates you on the choices you make for your body.
    http://www.heynaturalbeauties.com

    1. I completely agree with you! My natural hair journey has taught me a lot of things, including self acceptance and self love! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post!

Leave a Reply

