Feature Friday: Lizzie

LIZZIE
511

Hi everyone, this will be my first Feature Friday of many! I am very excited to provide a platform for fellow naturalistas of every texture to share their natural hair stories with everyone! The first Feature Friday is Lizzie from Lafayette, Louisiana, my BEST friend! Her hair is dope and she will tell you all about it! Hope you all enjoy!

1. Tell us about yourself.

My name is Elizabeth, I go by Liz. I love the natural movement! In addition, I love new challenges, and I admire people who are passionate and purposeful in their lives.

2. How long have you been natural and what made you decide to go natural?

I have been natural since after high school. I didn’t really decide to go natural. My mother stopped putting perms, because she was sure that her hair was falling out because of it. For this reason, I stopped as well (8 yrs ago). However, I discovered the Chi iron and wore that out. I didn’t really wear my hair in its “natural state” until I started AmeriCorps (Community Service Program) 3 years ago. I started wearing it this way because I would sweat, and it was hard to maintain straight hair. Also in the program so many girls had textured hair and it was welcoming.

Spring 2012
Spring 2011 (Puff)

3. Have you always embraced your natural hair texture?

No, I thought for awhile that my hair was pretty, but it was something that needed to be “done” or straightened in order to be beautiful. That has changed however!

4. How would you describe your hair?

My hair is soft and very curly, a S pattern, it is thin looking when wet and when it’s fully dry, it is thick and bountiful.

5. What is your natural hair regimen?

My hair is colored, so I use sulfate free, color shampoos most of the time. I wash my hair once a week. I condition with regular conditioner for colored hair, and I condition with 3 minute Aussie Moist conditioner, which is warmed with Olive oil. After a while my hair is soaking wet, I apply color protecting serum. After, if I am wearing my hair stretched, I towel dry (I know frizz…but I am not wearing my hair out) and I braid it into 4 braids with just leave in conditioner and then do protective styles (several different buns…etc) for the week.

6. What products can’t you live without?

Curl Enhancing Smoothie

7. How do you retain length and maintain the health of your hair?

I wash my hair once a week, and I do not straighten my hair often.

8. What lessons have you learned during your natural hair journey?

That I love my hair just the way it is, and that when you know what to do, it is easier to manage than straight hair.

9. Is there any advice you would like to give to fellow textured ladies?

Yes, have fun with your hair.

10. Where can we find you?

I can only be reached here! So please hit up Jai if you’re interested in learning more, we should do a video together!

066435586Dec 2013 before cutDecember 2013after cutMay 2013Nov 2012 froNov 2013 knots

One comment

Leave a Reply

