FEATURE FRIDAY: DANYELLE

20140215_165956

1. Tell me about yourself.

My name is Danyelle Paine and I am a graduate student of New Orleans Baptist Seminary. I am a divine specimen made by God. I love the color purple, reggae music, and Betty Boop. I play the guitar. I can speak English, Spanish, and American Sign Language. I love to serve and volunteer in the homeless community. I am aiming to change the world.

2. How long have you been natural and what made you decide to go natural?

I have been natural all of my life. In my house we got hot combs. I never had a perm and was afraid of them because I would hear people say they burn. I couldn’t imagine having my head burn for a period of time so that my hair can be straight.

3. Have you always embraced your natural hair texture?

My mother taught me that straight hair is good hair. The way my hair coiled and curled was nappy. So I grew up ashamed of my natural hair. It was in college that I began to embrace my natural hair. I loved the way my hair looked because it was different. Straight or curly it’s all good hair. Texture does not determine quality.

IMG_20131006_093855

4. How would you describe your hair?

I would describe my hair as very thick with two types of curls. I have some tight curls in the very back with looser curls in the front. About 3 years ago, I got locs and I love them. I embrace my hair to the fullest.

5. What is your natural hair regimen?

I am big on clean hair that smells good. So I would wash my hair every couple of days or weekly. I also love to use a great daily moisturizer.

6. What products can’t you live without?

I can not live without my black bees wax with jojoba oil, Suaves Almond and Shea Butter shampoo and conditioner (it’s cheap and a great moisturizer). I use Pantene Pro V relaxed and natural hair mask for my leave in conditioner. I also use castor oil with some olive oil as a moisturizer.

20140228_111014

IMG_20131128_142200

7. How do you retain length and maintain the health of your hair?

I maintain the length and health of my hair by loving my hair. When you love your hair, you take time to care for your hair. I also grease my hair weekly to keep the moisture.

8. What lessons have you learned during your natural hair journey?

I have learned to not be afraid of my hair. I learned to always have a protectant on my hair, if I am applying heat. My favorite heat protecting serums are Paul Mitchell smoothing serum and Chi silk infusion.

9. Is there any advice you would like to give to other fellow curly girls?

My advice to all of the natural ladies of the world is to firstly love you. Once you’ve established that then love your hair. Embrace your hair and recognize it for the beauty that it is. If you’re hesitant about going natural and are afraid of the big chop, then start slow. Chop a little at a time because going natural is the best thing for your hair. Your hair will be its healthiest. To all my newbies, do not run because you do not know how to style your hair. I educated myself by YouTube. I watched those videos until I was a pro. You can do it and it does take time.

10. Where can we find you?

You can find me on facebook @Danyelle D-nice Paine and Instagram @danyola

IMG_20130125_201341IMG_20130202_133713

Leave a Reply

