Feature Friday: Sharlene

photo 1

1. Tell me about yourself.

My name is Sharlene and I am from Louisiana.

2.How long have you been natural and what made you decide to go natural?

I was a slow transitioner. I grew my hair out for 2 1/2 years wearing protective styles such as braids, weaves, and braidouts. I chose to grow my hair out instead of doing the big chop solely because I wasn’t brave enough to do so. During my transition stage I experimented a lot with my hair because I had to learn how to work the 2 textures helped me start to discover what works best for my hair.

3. Have you always embraced your natural hair texture?

I can truly say I grew to love my texture. When I started my journey going back natural, very few were doing so there was a lot of trial and error with my hair but that made me appreciate the journey so much more but I definitely had those “WTF mornings” with my hair. Once I learned how to treat my hair properly and learned what works best for my hair; I began to appreciate it a lot more and experiment with different products and styles I am still learning.

photo 2

 

 

4. How would you describe your hair?

My hair is SUPER THICK, with every curl pattern imaginable.

5. What is your natural hair regimen?

I cowash weekly, shampoo when needed (ex. if I have a lot of buildup from working out), deep conditioning twice a month or more depending on what my hair needs because sometimes my hair is super dry. During the week my hair is almost always in some type of braid (French braid or goddess braid) or bun for work. Braids are just so low maintenance and an easy style, which also cuts down on my time when getting ready in the morning. I use the Organix Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Conditioner and Hello Hydration interchangeably when I co wash. The leave-in Kinky Curly Knot Today: Leave-In/Detangler is my Holy Grail. I absolutely love how it makes my hair feel and it makes it so much easier to detangle. When I deep condition I use the Shea Moisture Deep Conditioning Masque and I’ll perform my hot oil treatements with Olive oil to add moisture when my hair needs a little more TLC. My favorite oils to use are coconut oil and jojoba oil. I use the jojoba oil more on m when my ends and the coconut oil when I do my scalp massages or just to refresh my hair from an old style. And lastly, for my braid and twist outs I use either Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie or the Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioner. I love how both of these products give my hair definition and leave my hair nourished.

6. How do you retain length and maintain the health of your hair?

I maintain a healthy length by keeping my hair in some type of protective style (French braid, goddess braid, bun, etc.) during the week and keeping my hair moisturized when wearing a style where my hair is out such as a twist out or braid out. I am a big advocate on little to no heat on my hair because I have had severe  heat damage from excessive straightening in the past. I aim to straighten my hair no more than twice a year and during that time I get a trim if needed.

 

 

photo 3

7. What lessons have you learned during your natural hair journey?

The best things about being curly are being able to wear my hair any way I please and the styles are still cute. I don’t have to worry about slicking down my edges or worrying about having the perfect bun. Curly hair is so versatile; it gives us all curly girls a way to express our personality and style through our hair.

8. Is there any advice you would like to give to other fellow curly girls?

Be patient, I know that’s said once to many but it’s very true. Embrace your hair at every stage and be creative.

 

photo 4

9. Where can we find you?

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/Sharleneyvonne

Instagram: Sharleneyvonner

Blog: http://www.sharleneyvonne.blogspot.com

Tumblr: SharleneYvonne

3 comments

Leave a Reply

