MY TOP 5 TIPS FOR LENGTH RETENTION

image

Hello everyone! Hope you all are having a wonderful day! I just wanted to give my two cents today on my top five ways to retain length. This is strictly my opinion and what has been working for me, but I’m sure everyone can benefit from most of these tips provided.

1. MOISTURE, MOISTURE, MOISTURE: I believe the most important step you can implement in your routine is keeping your hair strands hydrated. I have already talked about hydrating from the inside out in a previous post, but let me remind you, drinking water and plenty of fluids is very important! What you put inside of your body will very well show in your outer appearance. Also, spritzing your hair with a water based conditioner or simply water every night or when it becomes dry can have a major impact on the health of your hair. Hair tends to break when it is dry and brittle, so keeping your strands from becoming this way can ultimately help you retain length.

2. DEEP CONDITIONING: Finding a deep conditioner that works for you is very important to the health of your hair. I deep condition my hair once a week.  A good deep conditioner will provide moisture for your hair. It will also help your hair take on the stress and manipulation you put your hair through in between your wash sessions.

3. SATIN SCARF OR PILLOW: Cotton pillowcases rob the moisture in your hair. Satin scarves and pillowcases enable you to retain the moisture you worked so hard to get and it also protects your ends! So make sure you invest in a satin pillowcase if you are not keen to sleeping with a scarf on your head at night.

4. GETTING TRIMS REGULARLY: I regularly (maybe too regularly) trim my ends. I tend to go overboard, but I digress. Dusting (trimming an eighth of an inch) your ends regularly will help keep split ends at bay. Your hair cannot thrive with split ends creeping slowly up your hair shaft! Get rid of them! It’s nothing worse than a girl holding on to scraggly, see through ends for the sake of some “length”. As your can probably tell this is a pet peeve of mine. Ladies, trim about every eight weeks or when you deem necessary, just please don’t walk around with scraggly ends you will have to get rid of them at some point in order for you to retain length in the future!

5. MINIMIZE YOUR USE OF HEAT: I straighten my hair maybe twice a year and probably won’t do it again for another couple of years. I say this for two reasons, first of all, it doesn’t last long enough and secondly, it only takes one time for you to acquire heat damage no matter how careful you are. Everytime I have straightened my hair I have acquired some sort of heat damage and I’m back at square one nursing my hair back to health. And to make matters worse, my hair may have remained straight for a day or two, so that’s months of work for a day of straight hair. The trade off is not worth it for me. So if possible, use heat sparingly and when you do make sure your use some sort of heat protectant!

Hope these tips are helpful!! Have a good one:)

6 comments

Leave a Reply

